Faculty Council (Fakultätsrat)

The Faculty Council is the highest body of the Faculty, which is a basic unit within the organization of academic self-government.

The Faculty Council has the following important tasks, among others:

- Decisions on fundamental matters of teaching, study and research at the Faculty
- Decisions about the Faculty's statutes
- Election and deselection of the dean and the vice-deans
- Decisions on the teaching programs
- Resolutions on the teaching report of the faculty and on the reports on the evaluation of teaching as well as the study and examination regulations
- Decisions on appointment proposals and decisions on habilitations
- Decisions on the faculty's equal opportunity concept
- Decisions on all issues concerning the faculty as a whole
- Election of members for all other boards and commissions of the faculty

Each of the four status groups (professors, research staff, administrative staff and students) has its representatives in the faculty council. The representatives are being elected within the status group. All members of the status groups are invited

- to candidate as a member of the faculty council and
- to vote about the representatives of the status groups.

According to the faculty statute the faculty council has **15 members**, each member has a substitute. The structure of the members of the faculty council is as follows:

- 8 professors
- 2 representatives of the research staff (WMA)
- 2 representatives of the administrative staff (MTV)
- 3 student representatives

Elections for all faculty councils of RUB take place every three years in June. They are centrally monitored by the election's office of the Rectorate. The last regular elections took place in June 2020, the next regular elections will take place in June 2023.

Since the Faculty of Computer Science has not existed in June 2020, the elections for the first faculty council took place after the foundation of the faculty (1.10.2021) in November 2021. Since these elections were extraordinary, the members of the new faculty council will be elected in June 2023 (13. and 14. June).

The meetings of the Faculty Council take place 3-4 times each semester.

The members of the current Faculty Council are listed on the following page.

Members of the Faculty Council

(last update 29.03.2023)

Status group		Member	Substitute	Last Election	Amtszeit	Next* Election
Professors 8 Vvtes	1.	Prof. Maike Buchin	Prof. Angela Sasse	11/2021	3 years	06/ 2023
	2.	Prof. Thorsten Berger	Prof. Maribel Acosta	11/2021	3 years	06/ 2023
	3.	Prof. Asja Fischer	Prof. Steffen Bondorf	11/2021	3 years	06/ 2023
	4.	Prof. Jörg Schwenk	Prof. Timo Hönig	11/2021	3 years	06/ 2023
	5.	Prof. Gregor Leander	Prof. Kevin Borgolte	11/2021	3 years	06/ 2023
	6.	Prof. Gregor Schöner	Prof. N. Fleischhacker	11/2021	3 years	06/ 2023
	7.	Prof. Eike Kiltz		11/2021	3 years	06/ 2023
	8.	Prof. Thomas Zeume		11/2021	3 years	06/ 2023
Research stuff (WiMi)	1.	Dr. Veelasha Moonsamy	Lea Thiel	11/2021	3 years	06/ 2023
2 Votes	2.	Dr. Christian Mainka	Alexander Neuhaus	11/2021	3 years	06/ 2023
Administrative and techn. Stuff (MTV) 2 votes	1.	Marion Reinhard- Kalender	Charlotte Schab	11/2021	3 years	06/ 2023
	2.	Oleg Scherstnew	Jennifer Knothe	11/2021	3 years	06/ 2023
Students 3 votes	1.	Gregor Bellach (AI)	Mara Hinz (ITS)	06/2022	1 year	06/ 2023
	2.	Gerret Bultmann (Inf)	Moritz Mayerhof (AI)	06/2022	1 year	06/ 2023
	3.	Simon Pohlenz (ITS)	Patrick Gerk (AI)	06/2022	1 year	06/ 2023

Advising members of the Faculty Council (without vote)

Prof. Dr. Laurenz Wiskott	Dean		
Prof. Dr. Alexander May	Vice-dean for structure and finances		
Prof. Dr. Tim Güneysu	Vice-dean for outreach		
Prof. Dr. Tobias Glasmachers	Vice-dean for teaching		
Prof. Dr. Sen Cheng	Vice-dean for research and infrastructure		
Biljana Cubaleska	Managing director		