CALL FOR PAPERS





CMS 2004

Eighth IFIP TC-6 TC-11 Conference on Communications and Multimedia Security

September 15-19, 2004, Windermere (United Kingdom) Organized by: *ISSRG, University of Salford*

CMS 2004 is the eighth working conference on Communications and Multimedia Security since 1995. State-of the-art issues as well as practical experiences and new trends in the areas will be the topics of interest again, as proven by preceding conferences. This year the organizers especially encourage submissions on advanced topics such as security of wireless networks, web services security, privacy protection, survivability of critical communication infrastructures, and protection of electronic documents.

TOPICS

We solicit papers describing original ideas and research results on foundations and applications related to the Communications and Multimedia Security area. Suggested topics include - but are not limited to:

- Applied cryptography
- Authorization infrastructures
- Biometry
- Combined multimedia security
- Communications systems security
- Critical information infrastructure protection and social implications
- Cryptography steganography
- Digital watermarking
- Implementation, deployment and management of security policies
- Integrity and internal control in business applications
- Internet, intranet and extranet security

- Legal, social and ethical aspects of communication systems security
- Mobile communications security
- Multilateral Security
- Multimedia systems security
- Network Protocol Security
- New generation networks (NGN) security
- Organizational issues in implementing security measures
- Privacy protection
- Possible attacks on multimedia systems
- Secure electronic commerce
- Web Services security

INSTRUCTIONS FOR AUTHORS

Papers and submissions must be written in English. Papers should be limited to 5500 words, full page figures being counted as 400 words. Each paper must include a short abstract and a list of keywords indicating subject classification, and its introduction should summarize the contributions of the paper at a level appropriate for a non-specialist reader. The paper must be anonymous, with no author names, affiliations, acknowledgements, or obvious references. Acceptance of a paper means an obligation for at least one of the authors to attend the conference and present the paper.

Authors are asked to submit original papers only. Papers that have previously been published and papers that are currently being considered for publication by another journal or conference are not eligible. All submitted papers will be blind refereed by members of the International Program Committee for correctness, originality, relevance to the conference, and quality of presentation.

The proceedings will be published by Kluwer Academic Publishers and will be available at the conference.

To submit a paper visit the conference web site at http://sec.isi.salford.ac.uk/cms2004/

VENUE

The conference will take place in the English Lake District, home of Wordsworth and the inspiration of many of his poems. The Lake District is famed for its scenic beauty and many varied tourist attractions. More information about the Lake District is available from http://www.cumbria-the-lake-district.co.uk/.

IMPORTANT DATES

Deadline for submission: 11 April 2004 Notification of acceptance: 17 May 2004 Camera-ready papers: 18 June 2004

Programme Committee

David Chadwick, Program Chair, University of Salford, UK Jean Bacon, University of Cambridge, UK Steve Bellovin, AT&T Research, USA Elisa Bertino, *University of Milan*, *Italy* Howard Chivers, University of York, UK Stephen Farrell, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland Russ Housley, Vigil Security, USA Stephen Kent, BBN Technologies, USA Herbert Leitold, TU Graz, Austria Javier Lopez, University of Malaga, Spain

Chris Mitchell, Royal Holloway, University of London, UK

Ken Moody, University of Cambridge, UK Sead Muftic, Stockholm University, Sweden Sassa Otenko, University of Salford, UK

Günther Pernul, *University of Regensburg*. *Germany*

Bart Preneel, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium

Sihan Qing, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Pierangela Samarati, University of Milan, Italy

Wolfgang Schneider, Fraunhofer SIT, Germany

Frank Siebenlist, Argonne National Laboratory, USA

Otto Spaniol, Chairman of TC6, Aachen University, Germany

Leon Strous, Chairman of TC11, De Nederlandsche Bank, Netherlands

Mary Thompson, Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory, USA

Von Welch, National Center for Supercomputing Applications, USA

Organizing Committee Chair

Professor Grahame Cooper, ISI, University of Salford, England