Third European Workshop on Security and Privacy in Ad hoc and Sensor Networks (ESAS 2006)

in conjunction with the European Symposium on Research in Computer Security (ESORICS 2006)

Hamburg, Germany September 20-21, 2006.

Call for Papers

The vision of ubiquitous computing has generated a lot of interest in wireless ad hoc and sensor networks. However, besides their potential advantages, these new generations of networks also raise some challenging problems with respect to security and privacy. The aim of this workshop is to bring together the network security, cryptography, and wireless networking communities in order to discuss these problems and to propose new solutions. The third ESAS workshop seeks submissions that present original research on all aspects of security and privacy in wireless ad hoc and sensor networks. Submission of papers based on work-in-progress is encouraged. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to the following:

Privacy and anonymity Secure in-network processing
Prevention of traffic analysis Attack resistant data aggregation

Location privacy

Secure positioning and localization
Secure MAC protocols
Secure topology control

Key management
Trust establishment
Embedded security

Secure routing Cryptography under resource constraints

Cooperation and fairness

Secure context aware computing Distributed intrusion detection

Important Dates

Submission deadline: **May 29, 2006**Notification of acceptance: July 31, 2006

Workshop: September 20-21, 2006

Camera ready version: October 9, 2006

Instructions for Authors

Authors are invited to submit an extended abstract of their original work. Maximum length for submissions is 8 pages. The preferred submission format is PDF or PostScript. Submissions must not substantially duplicate work that any of the authors have published elsewhere or have submitted in parallel. All submissions will be refereed. Accepted papers should be presented at the workshop, in which case they will appear in the post-workshop proceedings. The final camera ready version should be sent in after the workshop and it must not exceed 15 pages. Further information on how to submit papers will be available on the web site of the workshop: http://www.crysys.hu/ESAS2006/

Workshop Proceedings

As in previous years, the proceedings will be published by Springer after the workshop in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) Series (http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/). Note that in order to be included in the proceedings, an accepted paper must be presented at the workshop.

For further information, please, visit the web site of the workshop at http://www.crysys.hu/ESAS2006/

ESAS 2006 staff

General Chair Dirk Westhoff, NEC Europe Network Lab, Germany

Program Chairs Levente Buttyán, Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary

Virgil Gligor, University of Maryland, USA

Publicity Chairs Claude Castelluccia, INRIA, France

Susanne Wetzel, Stevens Institute of Technology, USA

Program Committee Imad Aad, DoCoMo Lab Europe, Germany

N. Asokan, Nokia, Finland

Sonja Buchegger, University of California, Berkeley, USA

Srđan Čapkun, Technical University of Denmark

Claude Castelluccia, INRIA, France

Xuhua Ding, Singapore Management University, Singapore Roberto Di Pietro, Università "La Sapienza" – Roma, Italy Hannes Hartenstein, University of Karlsruhe, Germany

Yih-Chun Hu, University of Illinois UC, USA

Markus Jakobsson, Indiana University, Bloomington, USA

Frank Kargl, University of Ulm, Germany

Yongdae Kim, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, USA

Breno de Medeiros, Florida State University, USA

Ludovic Mé, Supelec, France Pietro Michiardi, Eurecom, France Gabriel Montenegro, Microsoft, USA

Cristina Nita-Rotaru, Purdue University, USA Guevara Noubir, Northeastern University, USA

Kaisa Nyberg, Helsinki University of Technology, Finland

Panagiotis Papadimitratos, EPFL, Switzerland Adrian Perrig, Carnegie Mellon University, USA Radha Poovendran, University of Washington, USA

Frank Stajano, Cambridge University, UK

Andre Weimerskirch, University of Bochum, Germany Dirk Westhoff, NEC Europe Network Lab, Germany Susanne Wetzel, Stevens Institute of Technology, USA

Jeong Yi, Samsung Advanced Institute of Technology, Korea